A long time ago, carrots weren't orange—they were purple, white, yellow, red, green, and even black. In this article we will tell you what colors of carrots exist today and what useful properties each of its types has...

Multicolored carrots | What determines the color of carrots

shutterstock.com

Carrots have not shown their orange color for nearly 5000 years. The first mention of the use of carrots by humans dates back to 3000 BC. At that time in Afghanistan, carrots were purple on the outside and yellow on the inside.

The ancient Greeks and Romans also cultivated this vegetable, but mainly for medicinal purposes: carrots were considered a strong aphrodisiac that enhances sexual desire.

As the Arabs carried seeds across Asia, Africa, and the Arabian Peninsula, carrots blossomed in various shades of purple, white, yellow, red, green, and even black.

The very first orange carrots were grown in Holland in the XNUMXth century – the patriots of their country bred a variety that matched the color of the Dutch royal house of the Orange dynasty.

By the XNUMXth century, the Dutch had become the main European producers of carrots, and all current varieties of this vegetable date back to four legendary varieties: “early semi-long”, “late semi-long”, “scarlet” and “long orange”.

Multicolored carrots | What determines the color of carrots

pixabay.com

According to the UN, in 1903 there were 287 varieties of carrots grown in the world, but in the 2000s there were only about 20 of them.

These days, multi-colored vegetables are becoming more and more popular, and many companies around the world are trying to develop plants that would have a non-standard color. So there is a fashion for non-orange varieties on carrots. Today in stores you can find white, yellow, dark red and crimson varieties of carrots.

In addition, varieties of colored carrots (for example, Rainbow F1) have been specially bred, which allow you to grow yellow, purple, white and orange root crops at the same time. They sprout at the same time, beautiful in appearance and tasty. It is worth considering that the same variety itself may have a different color.

Interesting fact

In 1997, chocolate-flavoured carrots were introduced in Iceland as part of the Wacky Veg line, specifically aimed at children.

Multicolored carrots | What determines the color of carrots

flickr.com

 

Interesting facts and misconceptions about carrots

Carrots as one of the most useful gifts of nature were praised by the "father of medicine" Hippocrates. In those days, it was used as an antiseptic, laxative and antihelminthic, as well as an ointment against inflammation of the skin and sores on it. And modern scientists recommend carrots as a product that can protect the body from many diseases.

Carrots contain a lot of cellulose, folic acid, potassium, phosphorus and vitamin A. It is low in calories: a medium-sized root vegetable (up to 18 centimeters long) contains only 30 calories. But vitamin A is such an amount that is quite enough for a person for four days.

A recent study conducted in America at the University of Kentucky showed that one gram of carrots contains one third more soluble cellulose than oat bran – the most recommended and most expensive product in the United States against cholesterol.

Many naturopaths and raw foodists prefer raw carrots to boiled carrots, believing that they contain more vitamins and other beneficial substances. However, studies have allowed scientists from the University of Arkansas (USA) to state that boiled carrots contain 3 times more antioxidants that protect the body from cancer than raw ones. It turns out that when storing boiled carrots, new chemical compounds from the group of phenols with high antioxidant activity are formed.

Other lovers of this vegetable claim that it is extremely beneficial for the eyes.

The usefulness of carrots in this case is explained by the fact that it contains beta-carotene, which in the human body turns into vitamin A, which is necessary for the retina. I must say that in the complete absence of this vitamin, the human eye does not adapt to the dark. However, it is not at all necessary to absorb carrots in kilograms in order to get the right amount of vitamin A. The fact is that there are large reserves of beta-carotene in the liver, which are easily replenished with a variety of products. Therefore, fears that vitamin A will not be enough and vision will deteriorate from this are excessive.

Multicolored carrots | What determines the color of carrots

pixabay.com

 

Useful properties of colorful carrots

Colored varieties of carrots differ, first of all, in the content of plant pigments. But in addition to coloring root crops, plant pigments perform many other functions in the human body. Many of these pigments are very useful – they work as antioxidants and anti-inflammatory agents, they are responsible for our immunity, improve vision, strengthen the walls of blood vessels, improve skin condition...

Let's look at what pigment causes a particular color of carrots and what useful properties each type of carrot has.

  • Orange carrot. The orange color of the root crops indicates a large amount of beta-carotene (provitamin A) and this is one of the main sources of its receipt for the human body. Under the influence of liver enzymes, it turns into vitamin A (retinol), which supports the work of many internal organs and systems. First of all, vitamin A is the basis of overall eye health.
  • Yellow carrot. It contains the pigment lutein, which belongs to xanthophylls, which prevent cancer of the internal organs. Lutein protects the retina from the harmful effects of white light, increases visual acuity, improves skin color, and helps prevent the development of cardiovascular diseases.
  • Red carrot. It contains lycopene (the same pigment colors watermelons and tomatoes), which helps protect the body from various dangerous diseases, such as lung and prostate cancer. In addition, it has a beneficial effect on the functioning of the heart, improves vision and memory, and slows down the development of cataracts.
  • Purple carrot. It contains the natural pigment anthocyanin, which prevents the development of oncological diseases, puts up a barrier against infections, improves immunity and resistance of small vessels, helps to reduce inflammatory reactions and oxidative stress in the intestine. Anthocyanins are also rich in: blood orange, blueberries, cranberries, raspberries, blackberries, black currants, cherries, eggplants, black rice, grape.
  • White carrot. It does not contain any pigments, so it does not cause allergies and is perfectly absorbed. It has a very pleasant taste and has a beneficial effect on digestion. Such carrots are an excellent option for baby food.
Rate the article and share on social networks
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating: 4.50 (Number of ratings: 9)
 

FactUm-Info Interesting Facts

Subscribe to our Telegram-channel

1.

Open the site FactUm-Info in the browser Google Chrome

2.

Press menu browser

3.

Select item "Install the application"

1.

Open the site FactUm-Info in the browser Safari

2.

Click the "Send"

3.

Select item "To Screen Home"

Давным-давно морковь не была оранжевой – она была багрового, белого, жёлтого, красного, зелёного и даже чёрного цветов. В этой статье мы расскажем какие существуют цвета моркови в наши дни и какими полезными свойствами обладает каждый её вид …

Разноцветная морковь | От чего зависит цвет моркови

shutterstock.com

Морковь не проявляла своей оранжевой окраски почти 5000 лет. Первое упоминание об употреблении моркови человеком относится к 3000 году до н. э. В ту пору в Афганистане морковь была багровой снаружи и жёлтой внутри.

Древние греки и римляне также выращивали этот овощ, но в основном в лекарственных целях: морковь считалась сильным афродизиаком, усиливающим сексуальное влечение.

По мере того как арабы разносили семена по Азии, Африке и Аравийскому полуострову, морковь расцветала разными оттенками багрового, белого, жёлтого, красного, зелёного и даже чёрного.

Самую первую оранжевую морковь вырастили в Голландии в XVI столетии – патриоты своей страны вывели сорт, подходящий по цвету голландскому королевскому дому династии Оранж.

К XVII веку голландцы превратились в основных европейских производителей моркови, и все нынешние разновидности этого овоща восходят к четырём легендарным сортам: «ранний полудлинный», «поздний полудлинный», «скарлет» и «длинный оранж».

Разноцветная морковь | От чего зависит цвет моркови

pixabay.com

По данным ООН, в 1903 году в мире выращивали 287 сортов моркови, но в 2000-х годах их оставалось всего около 20.

В наши дни разноцветные овощи становятся всё популярней и многие компании по всему миру стараются вывести растения, которые бы имели нестандартную окраску. Вот и на морковь прослеживается мода на не оранжевые сорта. Сегодня в магазинах можно встретить белые, жёлтые, тёмно-красные и багровые сорта моркови.

Кроме того, были специально выведены сорта цветной моркови (например, Rainbow F1), которые позволяют вырастить одновременно жёлтые, фиолетовые, белые и оранжевые корнеплоды. Они всходят одновременно, красивы внешне и вкусны. Стоит учесть, что и сам по себе один и тот же сорт может иметь различную окраску.

Интересный факт

В 1997 году в Исландии вывели морковь со вкусом шоколада – как часть линии «Прикольных овощей» («Wacky Veg»), ориентированной специально на детвору.

Разноцветная морковь | От чего зависит цвет моркови

flickr.com

 

Интересные факты и заблуждения о моркови

Морковь как один из самых полезных даров природы восхвалял ещё «отец медицины» Гиппократ. В те времена её использовали как антисептическое, слабительное и противоглистное средство, а также в виде мази против воспаления кожи и язвочек на ней. И современные учёные рекомендуют морковь как продукт, способный защитить организм от многих заболеваний.

В моркови много целлюлозы, фолиевой кислоты, калия, фосфора и витамина А. Она низкокалорийна: корнеплод средних размеров (длиной до 18 сантиметров) содержит всего 30 калорий. Зато витамина А такое количество, которого вполне достаточно человеку на четверо суток.

Недавние исследования, проведённые в Америке в Университете штата Кентукки, показали, что в одном грамме моркови содержится на треть больше растворимой целлюлозы, чем в овсяных отрубях – наиболее рекомендуемом и самом дорогом в США продукте против холестерина.

Многие натуропаты и сыроеды предпочитают сырую морковь варёной, считая, что в ней содержится больше витаминов и других полезных веществ. Однако проведённые исследования позволили учёным из Университета штата Арканзас (США) заявить, что в варёной моркови содержится в 3 раза больше антиоксидантов, защищающих организм от рака, чем в сырой. Оказывается, при хранении варёной моркови образуются новые химические соединения из группы фенолов с высокой антиоксидантной активностью.

Другие любители этого овоща утверждают, что он необычайно полезен для глаз.

Полезность моркови в данном случае объясняется тем, что она содержит бета-каротин, который в организме человека превращается в витамин А, необходимый для сетчатки глаза. Надо сказать, что при полном отсутствии этого витамина человеческий глаз не адаптируется к темноте. Однако вовсе не обязательно килограммами поглощать морковь, для того чтобы получить нужное количество витамина А. Дело в том, что в печени находятся большие запасы бета-каротина, которые с лёгкостью восполняются самыми разными продуктами. Поэтому опасения, что не будет хватать витамина А и от этого испортится зрение, чрезмерны.

Разноцветная морковь | От чего зависит цвет моркови

pixabay.com

 

Полезные свойства разноцветной моркови

Различаются цветные сорта моркови, в первую очередь, содержанием растительных пигментов. Но помимо окрашивания корнеплодов, растительные пигменты выполняют и множество других функций в организме человека. Многие из этих пигментов весьма полезны – они работают как антиоксиданты и противовоспалительные агенты, отвечают за наш иммунитет, улучшают зрение, укрепляют стенки сосудов, улучшают состояние кожи…

Давайте рассмотрим каким пигментом вызван тот или иной цвет моркови и какими полезными свойствами обладает каждый вид моркови.

  • Оранжевая морковь. Оранжевый цвет корнеплодов свидетельствует о большом количестве бета-каротина (провитамина А) и это один из основных источников его получения для организма человека. Под воздействием ферментов печени он превращается в витамин А (ретинол), который поддерживает работу многих внутренних органов и систем. Прежде всего, витамин А – основа общего здоровья глаз.
  • Жёлтая морковь. В её составе есть пигмент лютеин, относящийся к ксантофиллам, которые предотвращают заболевание внутренних органов раком. Лютеин оберегает сетчатку глаза от вредного воздействия белого света, увеличивает остроту зрения, улучшает цвет кожи, помогает предотвратить развитие сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний.
  • Красная морковь. В её составе – ликопин (этот же пигмент окрашивает арбузы и помидоры), который помогает оберегать организм от различных опасных заболеваний, таких как рак лёгких и простаты. Кроме того, он благотворно влияет на работу сердца, улучшает зрение и память, замедляет развитие катаракты.
  • Фиолетовая морковь. Содержит природный пигмент антоциан, который предупреждает развитие онкологических заболеваний, выставляет барьер против инфекций, повышает иммунитет и устойчивость мелких сосудов, способствуют снижению воспалительных реакций и оксидативного стресса в кишечнике. Антоцианами также богаты: кровавый апельсин, черника, клюква, малина, ежевика, чёрная смородина, вишня, баклажаны, чёрный рис, виноград.
  • Белая морковь. Не содержит в себе никаких пигментов, поэтому она не вызывает аллергию и отлично усваивается. Она отличается очень приятным вкусом и благотворно влияет на пищеварение. Такая морковь – отличный вариант для детского питания.
Оцените статью и поделитесь в соцсетях
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Рейтинг: 4.50 (Количество оценок: 9)
 

FactUm-Info Интересные факты

Подпишитесь на наш Telegram-канал

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Google Chrome

2.

Нажмите меню браузера

3.

Выберите пункт «Установить приложение»

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Safari

2.

Нажмите значок «Отправить»

3.

Выберите пункт «На экран Домой»