Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

Kopi luwak (also kopi luwak or kopi luwak) is a type of coffee known for its specific processing method. This coffee is produced commercially in Indonesia, the Philippines, South India and Vietnam. Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world, costing around 550 euros (or $700) per kilo.

The word "kopi" in the Indonesian dialect of the Malay language means "coffee", and the word "luwak" is the local name for musanga.

The production process of kopi-luwak coffee beans consists in the fact that certain animals – musangs – eat the ripe fruits of the coffee tree (coffee cherries), digest the pulp surrounding the coffee beans and defecate the coffee beans, which are then collected by people, washed and dried in the sun.

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

The special taste of kopi-luwak is explained by the ability of musang gastric juice to break down some proteins that give bitterness to the finished drink, as well as by the action of bacteria of the gastrointestinal tract and interaction with gland secretions, which include civet.

Kopi Luwak coffee is characterized by a balanced taste with a delicate bitterness, a distinct hint of butter, hints of nougat and honey, as well as a long, stable pleasant taste.

It is believed that Musangs choose only the most ripe and delicious coffee cherries, and the volume of production of this coffee does not exceed several hundred kilograms per year.

However, at present, this type of coffee is often produced on an industrial scale at special fur farms. Animals on such fur farms are kept in cages and are deprived of the opportunity to move freely along the branches in search of the best coffee berries. Obviously, in captivity, musangs cannot choose the ripest berries and are forced to eat what the staff feeds them. Also, in farm conditions, the diet of musangs differs from the natural one, which may also affect the taste of the drink. In addition, methods have been developed to artificially flavor coffee with civet.

In the movie Tucked In, billionaire medical tycoon Edward Cole enjoys drinking kopi luwak coffee, but apparently doesn't know how it's made. But at the end of the film, Carter Chambers (comrade in misfortune) tells him exactly how kopi luwak coffee is made. Cole understands why this coffee tastes so special. Carter then crosses "laugh 'til I cry" off his list of things he wants to do before he dies.

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

Kopi Luwak is one of the most expensive coffees in the world.

bigstockphoto.com

 

An interesting story about the emergence of Kopi Luwak coffee

The origin of kopi luwak is closely related to the history of coffee production in Indonesia. At the beginning of the 18th century, the Dutch in their colonies on the East Indian islands of Java and Sumatra established coffee plantations of industrial varieties, including the well-known type of Arabica coffee imported from Yemen.

During the "Cultuurstelsel" (Dutch cultivation system in the 1830s-1870s) era, the Dutch banned local farmers and plantation workers from picking coffee beans for personal consumption. But local farmers wanted to try the famous coffee drink.

The locals soon learned that some species of musang or luwak (Asian palm civet) ate coffee fruit, but the coffee seeds remained undigested in their droppings. The natives collected the droppings of these luwak coffee beans, then peeled, roasted and ground them to make their own coffee drink.

The fame of fragrant civet coffee spread from the locals to the Dutch plantation owners. This particular coffee soon became their favorite drink, however, due to its rarity and unusual process, civet coffee was expensive even in the colonial era.

The founder of the industrial method of producing kopi-luwak coffee is the English industrialist Joshua Robinson. For many years he was essentially a monopolist in this business, but then similar factories were opened by other entrepreneurs.

Копи Лувак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире: его стоимость порядка 700 долларов США за килограмм. Он известен специфическим способом обработки кофейных зёрен – путём их ферментации в пищеварительной системе животных – мусангов …

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Копи-лувак (также копи лувак или копи лювак) – это разновидность кофе, известная специфическим способом обработки. Этот кофе производится в промышленных масштабах в Индонезии, на Филиппинах, в Южной Индии и во Вьетнаме. Kopi Luwak – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире: его стоимость порядка 550 евро (или 700 долларов США) за килограмм.

Слово «копи» на индонезийском диалекте малайского языка означает «кофе», а слово «лувак» – местное название мусанга.

Процесс производства зёрен кофе копи-лювак состоит в том, что определённые зверьки –мусанги – поедают спелые плоды кофейного дерева (кофейные вишни), переваривают окружающую кофейные зёрна мякоть и испражняют зёрнышки кофе, которые затем собираются людьми, моются и сушатся на солнце.

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Особый вкус копи-лювак объясняют способностью желудочного сока мусангов расщеплять некоторые белки, придающие готовому напитку горечь, а также действием бактерий желудочно-кишечного тракта и взаимодействием с выделениями желёз, в состав которых входит цибетин.

Кофе копи-лувак характеризуется сбалансированным вкусом с деликатной горчинкой, отчётливым оттенком сливочного масла, оттенками нуги и мёда, а также долгим, устойчивым приятным вкусом.

Считается, что мусанги выбирают только самые спелые и вкусные кофейные вишни, а объём производства этого кофе не превышает нескольких сотен килограммов в год.

Однако в настоящее время этот вид кофе нередко производится в промышленных масштабах на специальных зверофермах. Зверьки на таких зверофермах содержатся в клетках и лишены возможности свободно передвигаться по веткам в поисках лучших кофейных ягод. Очевидно, в неволе мусанги не могут выбирать самые спелые ягоды и вынуждены есть то, чем их кормит персонал. Также в условиях ферм пищевой рацион мусангов отличается от естественного, что, возможно, отражается и на вкусе напитка. Кроме того, разработаны способы искусственной ароматизации кофе цибетином.

В фильме «Пока не сыграл в ящик» медицинский магнат-миллиардер Эдвард Коул любит пить кофе копи лювак, но, видимо, не знает, как получают. Но в конце фильма Картер Чемберс (товарищ по несчастью) сообщает ему, как именно производят кофе копи лювак. Коул понимает, почему этот кофе имеет такой особенный вкус. После чего Картер вычёркивает пункт «смеяться, пока не заплачу» из списка дел, которые хотел бы успеть сделать до смерти.

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

Копи лювак – один из самых дорогих сортов кофе в мире

bigstockphoto.com

 

Интересная история возникновения кофе копи-лувак

Происхождение копи-лувак тесно связано с историей производства кофе в Индонезии. В начале 18 века голландцы в своих колониях на восточно-индийских островах Ява и Суматра установили кофейные плантации промышленных сортов, в том числе и известный вид кофе «арабика», завезённый из Йемена.

В эпоху «Cultuurstelsel» (голландская система выращивания в 1830–1870-е годы) голландцы запретили местным фермерам и рабочим плантаций собирать кофейные плоды для личного употребления. Но местные фермеры хотели попробовать знаменитый кофейный напиток.

Вскоре местные жители узнали, что некоторые виды мусанга или лувака (азиатская пальмовая циветта) употребляли в пищу кофейные фрукты, но семена кофе оставались непереваренными в их помете. Туземцы собрали помет этих кофейных зёрен люваков, затем очистили, поджарили и размололи их, чтобы приготовить собственный кофейный напиток.

Слава об ароматном циветтном кофе распространилась от местных жителей к голландским владельцам плантаций. Вскоре этот специфический кофе стал их любимым напитком, однако из-за своей редкости и необычного процесса кофе циветты был дорогим даже в колониальную эпоху.

Основатель промышленного способа производства кофе копи-лувак – английский промышленник Джошуа Робинзон. Он долгие годы был по сути монополистом в этом деле, но затем подобные фабрики были открыты и другими предпринимателями.

ИНТЕРЕСНОЕ

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в одном из браузеров:

Google Chrome

Яндекс.Браузер

Opera

2.

Нажмите меню браузера

3.

Выберите пункт «Добавить на главный экран»

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Safari

2.

Нажмите значок «Отправить»

3.

Выберите пункт «На экран Домой»