Groundhogs (or marmots)

pixabay.com

Marmots (or marmots) are relatively large, weighing several kilograms, animals that live in self-constructed burrows. These rodents are distributed in Eurasia and North America.

The ancestral home of marmots is North America, from where they spread through the Bering Strait to Asia, and further to Europe.

Different types of marmots have isolated themselves in different geographical zones and differ from each other in their behavior, but retained their external similarity and the need to hibernate.

All groundhogs are herbivorous, live in burrows, have warm fur, and almost all live in colonies. There is a difference between flatland marmots (baybaks) and mountain marmots living in the harsh conditions of the Alpine mountains, where summer heat comes late and winter comes early.

Marmots are the heaviest representatives of the squirrel family, depending on the species, they weigh from 3 to 7 kilograms. These are large rodents with characteristic short but strong legs, enlarged claws well adapted for digging, a thick body and large heads. The length of the head and body, depending on the species, is from 30 to 60 cm, the length of the tail is from 10 to 25 cm.

In total there are 15 types of marmots, some of them are divided into subspecies. We will now show a photo of the most common types of marmots (the name and habitat of the species are below the picture).

Gray, or Altai, or Mountain Asian marmot

Gray, or Altai, or Mountain Asian marmot: common in Asia (in the mountains of the Tien Shan, Altai) | wikimedia.org

Baibak, or babak, or common (steppe) marmot

Baibak, or babak, or common (steppe) marmot – an inhabitant of the virgin steppes of Eurasia | wikimedia.org

gray marmot

Gray Groundhog: Native to North America (Canada, USA) | wikimedia.org

Black-capped, or Kamchatka, or Eastern marmot

Black-capped, or Kamchatka, or Eastern marmot: lives in Eastern and North-Western Siberia | wikipedia.org

yellow-bellied marmot

Yellow-bellied marmot: distributed in the western United States and Canada | flickr.com

Himalayan or Tibetan marmot

Himalayan or Tibetan marmot: found in the Himalayan region of India and Pakistan | wikimedia.org

alpine marmot

Alpine marmot: distributed in the highlands of Central and Southern Europe, especially in the Alps | needpix.com

groundhog

The woodchuck is the most widespread species of American marmot. Widely distributed in the northeastern and central states of the United States | wikipedia.org

Tarbagan, or Mongolian (Siberian) marmot

Tarbagan, or Mongolian (Siberian) marmot: lives in Russia (in the steppes of Transbaikalia and Tuva), Mongolia (excluding the south), Northeast China | wikimedia.org

Olympic marmot, or Olympic marmot

The Olympic marmot, or Olympic marmot, is an inhabitant of the Olympic Mountains (Olympic Mountains), located on the peninsula of the same name in the west of Washington state in the USA | wikimedia.org

Vancouver Groundhog

Vancouver Groundhog: Only found on Vancouver Island in Canada, found mostly in the south of the island | wikipedia.org

Marmots are good-natured little bellies about the size of a cat. In case of danger, they squeak loudly. However, this is where their charm ends. These animals can be dangerous to humans.

 

Are groundhogs harmless?

Not at all, because they kill people – cough them up to death. How so? Read on.

The fact is that the variety living in Mongolia – the steppe (or ordinary) marmot – is especially susceptible to an infectious lung disease caused by the Yersinia pestis bacterium and better known as bubonic plague.

Groundhogs spread the plague by coughing on neighbors – infecting fleas, rats, and eventually humans. All the great epidemics that swept through East Asia and mowed down Europe came from the steppe Mongolian marmots. Historians estimate that the death toll from the plague has exceeded one billion, placing the groundhog second only to the malarial mosquito on the list of mankind's greatest killers.

When a woodchuck or a human becomes a victim of the plague, the lymph nodes under their arms and in the groin blacken and swell (such ulcers are called "buboes", from the Greek boubon, "groin", hence the word "bubonic"). The Mongol will never touch the groundhog's armpits, because "the soul of a dead hunter hides there."

The remaining parts of the marmot are considered a delicacy in Mongolia. Local hunters perform whole rituals before sneaking up on their prey: they put on fake rabbit ears, dance and wave their yak tail. The caught marmot is roasted whole over hot stones.

The bubonic plague pandemic has been around for a very long time, of course, but this disease has not left us to this day – the last serious outbreak occurred in India in 1994. Plague is one of three diseases on the U.S. list of diseases requiring mandatory quarantine (the other two are yellow fever and cholera).

 

Baiback

In our area, the common (steppe) marmot or marmot is widespread. It is farmed for the sake of warm and light fur. Its meat is edible, and its fat has been used in technology and folk medicine (for example, as a healing ointment for rheumatism).

For agriculture, the bobak is practically harmless – it rarely touches cultivated plants; occasionally eats alfalfa and sunflower. In gardens bred in marmot colonies, they sometimes eat cabbage and aerial parts of carrots.

Baibak is a popular object of special hunting – varminting, in which shooting is carried out from a long distance from a special weapon. American marmots are also a popular target for varminting.

For varminting, rifled weapons of special types are used, with a weighted barrel, equipped with powerful optics of ten times or more magnification. The shot is fired at the maximum distance from the target, which must be relatively stationary.

The groundhog's manner of standing for hours like a "candle" at the hole, surveying the surroundings, makes it possible to make an aimed shot, but only at the maximum distance: the groundhog is shy and, in case of alarm, very quickly hides in the hole. Moreover, the animal is extremely strong on the wound, that is, if it is damaged in any part of the body, except for the head (no larger than a cognac glass), it manages to hide. And although the wounded animals often manage to go into the hole, they die there.

Young bobak

Young bobak | wikimedia.org

Adult bobak

Adult bobak | wikimedia.org

Baybaki near the village of Gerasimovka (Lugansk region, Ukraine)

Marmots near the village of Gerasimovka (Lugansk region, Ukraine), early summer 2009 | wikipedia.org

 

Groundhog Day

Groundhog Day is a traditional holiday in the United States and Canada, celebrated annually on February 2nd. It is believed that on this day you need to watch the marmot crawling out of its hole. By his behavior, one can judge the proximity of the onset of spring.

According to legend, if the day is cloudy, the groundhog does not see his shadow and calmly leaves the hole, which means that winter will end soon and spring will be early. If the day is sunny, the groundhog sees his shadow and, frightened by it, hides back into the hole – there will be another six weeks of winter.

In several cities and towns in the United States and Canada, festivals dedicated to local meteorological marmots are held on this day, which attract many tourists.

In the USA and Canada, the most famous 7 meteorological marmots are:

  1. Punxsutawney Phil is a groundhog that lives on Turkey Hill in Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania. This is the very first official groundhog meteorologist – since 1987, it was here that a festival began to be held, during which the “keepers” dressed in tuxedos ask Phil a question: does he see his shadow? If the groundhog whispers yes, then the winter will last another six weeks. According to American climatologists, the accuracy of Phil's predictions is 39%. At the same time, his fans and some holiday researchers claim an accuracy of 75% to 90%.
  2. Wiarton Willie is the most famous Canadian groundhog meteorologist from the village of Wiarton in Ontario, in whose honor an annual festival is held.
  3. Staten Island Chuck. Chuck is the official groundhog meteorologist for New York City. He lives in a zoo on Staten Island. Every year on February 2 at 7:30 he gives his forecast. The mayor of the city is present at this ceremony.
  4. Shubenacadsky Sam (Shubenacadie Sam). Due to Nova Scotia's Atlantic time zone, this groundhog makes the first Groundhog Day prediction in North America.
  5. Balzac Billy.
  6. Groundhog Jimmy (Jimmy the Groundhog).
  7. General Beauregard Lee.

Groundhog Day, 2005

Groundhog Day in Punxsutawney 2005 | wikimedia.org

Groundhog Day, 2008

Groundhog Day in Punxsutawney 2013 | wikimedia.org

Groundhog Day, 2013

Groundhog Day in Punxsutawney 2018 | wikimedia.org

Groundhog Day, 2020

Groundhog Day in Punxsutawney 2020 | wikimedia.org

 

Other interesting facts

  • The American town of Punxsutawney in Pennsylvania became world famous after the release of the 1993 comedy film Groundhog Day. And this is not surprising – the film was successful at the box office all over the world, collecting about $71 million in the US and Canada alone. The comedy Groundhog Day won the BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay and was subsequently included in the US National Film Registry.
  • In the cities of Angarsk (Irkutsk region, Russia), Aznakaevo (Republic of Tatarstan, Russia) and Karaganda (Kazakhstan), monuments to the marmot have been erected.
  • Baibak is one of the symbols of the Lugansk region of Ukraine, it is depicted on its coat of arms. It is also depicted on the coat of arms and flag of the Bizhbulyaksky district of the Republic of Bashkortostan (Russia).
  • Groundhog is remembered on the feast of St. Eudoxia (March 14). On this day, the groundhog woke up, whistled three times, turned over on the other side and slept until the Annunciation.
  • Groundhogs greet the sunrise with a whistle.
  • Groundhogs sometimes snore.

 

How the groundhog screams

 

Marmots of the Olympic National Park (National Geographic)

In the video player, you can turn on subtitles and select their translation into any language in the settings

В этой статье мы расскажем что представляют собой сурки, где они обитают и какие бывают их разновидности. Также рассмотрим кто такие байбаки, какую опасность они могут представлять для человека, как проводят День сурка и другие интересные факты …

Сурки (или мармоты)

pixabay.com

Сурки (или мармоты) – это относительно крупные, весом в несколько килограммов, животные, обитающие в сооружаемых самостоятельно норах. Распространены эти грызуны в Евразии и Северной Америке.

Прародина сурков – Северная Америка, откуда они распространились через Берингов пролив в Азию, и дальше – в Европу.

Разные виды сурков обособились в различных географических зонах и отличаются друг от друга особенностями поведения, но сохранили внешнее сходство и необходимость впадать в зимнюю спячку.

Все сурки травоядны, селятся в норах, имеют тёплый мех и почти все живут колониями. Различаются равнинные сурки (байбаки) и сурки горные, живущие в суровых условиях альпийских гор, куда летнее тепло приходит поздно, а зима является рано.

Сурки – самые тяжёлые представители семейства беличьих, в зависимости от вида они весят от 3 до 7 килограммов. Это крупные грызуны с характерными короткими, но крепкими ногами, увеличенными когтями, хорошо приспособленными для рытья, толстым телом и большими головами. Длина головы и тела в зависимости от вида составляет от 30 до 60 сантиметров, длина хвоста – от 10 до 25 см.

Всего существует 15 видов сурков, некоторые из них делятся на подвиды. Фото самых распространённых видов сурков мы сейчас покажем (название и место обитания вида – под картинкой).

Серый, или алтайский, или горноазиатский сурок

Серый, или алтайский, или горноазиатский сурок: распространён в Азии (в горах Тянь-Шаня, Алтая) | wikimedia.org

Байбак, или бабак, или обыкновенный (степной) сурок

Байбак, или бабак, или обыкновенный (степной) сурок – обитатель целинных степей Евразии | wikimedia.org

Седой сурок

Седой сурок: обитает в Северной Америке (Канада, США) | wikimedia.org

Черношапочный, или камчатский, или восточный сурок

Черношапочный, или камчатский, или восточный сурок: обитает в Восточной и Северо-Западной Сибири | wikipedia.org

Желтобрюхий сурок

Желтобрюхий сурок: распространён на западе США и Канады | flickr.com

Гималайский, или тибетский сурок

Гималайский, или тибетский сурок: водится в гималайском регионе Индии и Пакистана | wikimedia.org

Альпийский сурок

Альпийский сурок: распространён в высокогорных районах Центральной и Южной Европы, прежде всего в Альпах | needpix.com

Лесной сурок

Лесной сурок – самый широко распространённый вид американских сурков. Широко распространён в северо-восточных и центральных штатах США | wikipedia.org

Тарбаган, или монгольский (сибирский) сурок

Тарбаган, или монгольский (сибирский) сурок: обитает в России (в степях Забайкалья и Тувы), Монголии (исключая юг), Северо-Восточном Китае | wikimedia.org

Олимпикский сурок, или олимпийский сурок

Олимпикский сурок, или олимпийский сурок – обитатель гор Олимпик (Олимпийских гор), расположенных на одноимённом полуострове на западе штата Вашингтон в США | wikimedia.org

Ванкуверский сурок

Ванкуверский сурок: живёт только на острове Ванкувер в Канаде, обитает в основном на юге острова | wikipedia.org

Сурки – это добродушные пузанчики размером примерно с кошку. В случае опасности они громко пищат. Однако на этом их обаяние заканчивается. Эти зверьки могут быть опасными для человека.

 

Безобидны ли сурки?

Вовсе нет, поскольку они убивают людей – закашливают их до смерти. Как так? Читаем далее.

Дело в том, что обитающая в Монголии разновидность – степной (или обыкновенный) сурок – особенно восприимчива к инфекционному заболеванию лёгких, вызываемому бактерией Yersinia pestis и более известному как бубонная чума.

Сурки разносят чуму, кашляя на соседей – заражая блох, крыс и в конечном счёте людей. Все великие эпидемии, пронёсшиеся сквозь Восточную Азию и скосившие Европу, пришли от степных монгольских сурков. По оценкам историков, число умерших от чумы превысило миллиард, что ставит сурка на второе место после малярийного комара в списке величайших убийц человечества.

Когда сурок или человек становятся жертвой чумы, лимфатические узлы у них под мышками и в паху чернеют и распухают (такие язвы называют «бубонами», от греческого boubon, «пах», отсюда и слово «бубонная»). Монгол ни за что не притронется к подмышкам сурка, поскольку «там прячется душа мёртвого охотника».

Остальные части сурка считаются в Монголии деликатесом. Местные охотники совершают целые ритуалы, перед тем как подкрасться к добыче: надевают фальшивые кроличьи уши, пританцовывают и размахивают хвостом яка. Пойманного сурка зажаривают целиком над раскалёнными камнями.

Пандемия бубонной чумы пыла, конечно, очень давно, однако это заболевание не оставляет нас и по сей день – последняя серьёзная вспышка произошла в Индии в 1994 году. Чума является одной из трёх болезней, внесённых в США в список заболеваний, требующих обязательного карантина (две другие – жёлтая лихорадка и холера).

 

Байбак

В наших краях широко распространён обыкновенный (степной) сурок или байбак. Промышляется он ради тёплого и лёгкого меха. Его мясо съедобно, а жир использовался в технике и народной медицине (например, как целебная мазь от ревматизма).

Для сельского хозяйства байбак практически безвреден – он редко трогает культурные растения; изредка поедает люцерну и подсолнух. На огородах, разведённых в колонии сурков, они иногда едят капусту и надземные части моркови.

Байбак – популярный объект специальной охоты – варминтинга, при которой стрельба ведётся с большого расстояния из специального оружия. Американские сурки также являются популярным объектом варминтинга.

Для варминтинга используется нарезное оружие специальных образцов, с утяжелённым стволом, снабжённое мощной оптикой десятикратного и более увеличения. Выстрел производится на максимальном удалении от цели, которая должна быть относительно неподвижной.

Манера сурка часами стоять «свечкой» у норы, обозревая окрестности, даёт возможность произвести прицельный выстрел, но только на предельной дистанции: сурок пуглив и в случае тревоги очень быстро скрывается в норе. Более того, зверёк чрезвычайно крепок на рану, то есть при поражении в любую часть тела, кроме головы (размером не более коньячного бокала), он успевает скрыться. И хоть раненые животные часто успевают уйти в нору, там они и погибают.

Молодой байбак

Молодой байбак | wikimedia.org

Взрослый байбак

Взрослый байбак | wikimedia.org

Байбаки около села Герасимовка (Луганская область, Украина)

Сурки около села Герасимовка (Луганская область, Украина), начало лета 2009 года | wikipedia.org

 

День сурка

День сурка (Groundhog Day) – традиционный праздник в США и Канаде, отмечаемый ежегодно 2 февраля. Считается, что в этот день нужно наблюдать за сурком, вылезающим из своей норы. По его поведению можно судить о близости наступления весны.

Согласно поверью, если день пасмурный, сурок не видит своей тени и спокойно покидает нору – значит, зима скоро закончится, и весна будет ранняя. Если же день солнечный, сурок видит свою тень и, пугаясь её, прячется обратно в нору – будет ещё шесть недель зимы.

В нескольких городах и поселениях США и Канады в этот день проводятся фестивали, посвящённые местным суркам-метеорологам, которые привлекают многочисленных туристов.

В США и Канаде наиболее известны 7 сурков-метеорологов:

  1. Панксатонский Фил (Punxsutawney Phil) – сурок, живущий на Индюшачьей горке в городке Панксатони в Пенсильвании. Это самый первый официальный сурок-метеоролог – начиная с 1987 года именно здесь начали проводить фестиваль, во время которого облачённые в смокинги «хранители» задают Филу вопрос: видит ли он свою тень? Если сурок шепчет «да», значит, зима продлится ещё шесть недель. По подсчётам американских климатологов, точность предсказаний Фила составляет 39 %. В то же время его поклонники и некоторые исследователи праздника утверждают о точности от 75 % до 90 %.
  2. Виартонский Вилли (Wiarton Willie) – наиболее известный канадский сурок-метеоролог из деревни Виартон в провинции Онтарио, в честь которого проводится ежегодный фестиваль.
  3. Статен-айлендский Чак (Staten Island Chuck). Чак – официальный сурок-метеоролог Нью-Йорка. Он живёт в зоопарке на острове Статен-Айленд. Ежегодно 2 февраля в 7 часов 30 минут он даёт свой прогноз. На этой церемонии присутствует мэр города.
  4. Шубенакадский Сэм (Shubenacadie Sam). Из-за атлантического часового пояса Новой Шотландии этот сурок делает первое предсказание Дня сурка в Северной Америке.
  5. Бальзакский Билли (Balzac Billy).
  6. Сурок Джимми (Jimmy the Groundhog).
  7. Генерал Борегард Ли (General Beauregard Lee).

День сурка, 2005 год

День сурка в Панксатони, 2005 год | wikimedia.org

День сурка, 2008 год

День сурка в Панксатони, 2013 год | wikimedia.org

День сурка, 2013 год

День сурка в Панксатони, 2018 год | wikimedia.org

День сурка, 2020 год

День сурка в Панксатони, 2020 год | wikimedia.org

 

Другие интересные факты

  • Американский городок Панксатони в Пенсильвании стал известен во мире после выхода в 1993 году комедийного фильма «День сурка». И это не удивительно – фильм успешно прошёл в прокате во всём мире, только по США и Канаде собрав около 71 млн долларов. Комедия «День сурка» получила премию BAFTA за лучший сценарий, а впоследствии была включена в Национальный реестр фильмов США.
  • В городах Ангарск (Иркутская область, Россия), Азнакаево (Республика Татарстан, Россия) и Караганда (Казахстан) установлены памятники сурку.
  • Байбак – один из символов Луганской области Украины, он изображён на её гербе. Он также изображён на гербе и флаге Бижбулякского района Республики Башкортостан (Россия).
  • Сурка вспоминают на праздник святой Евдокии (14 марта). В этот день просыпался сурок, свистел трижды, переворачивался на другой бок и спал до Благовещения.
  • Сурку посвящена песня «Сурок», соч. 52 № 7 – классическая песня Людвига ван Бетховена на стихи И.В. Гёте.
  • Сурки встречают свистом восход солнца.
  • Сурки иногда храпят.

 

Как кричит сурок

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в одном из браузеров:

Google Chrome

Яндекс.Браузер

Opera

2.

Нажмите меню браузера

3.

Выберите пункт «Добавить на главный экран»

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Safari

2.

Нажмите значок «Отправить»

3.

Выберите пункт «На экран Домой»