Capital Gate – the building with the largest slope in the world

Image enlarges when clicking on it | shutterstock.com

Capital Gate (translated from English means “Gate of the Capital”) is a unique skyscraper in the capital of the United Arab Emirates – Abu Dhabi. With a height of 160 meters, this building has become one of the tallest in the city. The skyscraper is also known as the Abu Dhabi Leaning Tower. Capital Gate entered the Guinness Book of Records as the building with the largest slope in the world.

Capital Gate – the building with the largest slope in the world

Image enlarges when clicking on it | shutterstock.com

The slope of the building to the west is 18 degrees. For comparison: the angle of inclination of the famous Leaning Tower of Pisa is only 4 degrees, that is, 4,5 times less (read interesting facts about the Leaning Tower of Pisa here ☛). In June 2010, the Guinness Book of Records recognized Capital Gate as the building with the largest angle of inclination in the world.

A similar angle of inclination in the project was realized thanks to a peculiar engineering approach: the plates of the tower floors were superimposed on one another strictly vertically up to the 12th floor, above which they were located with gaps from 30 to 140 centimeters, providing a slope.

Capital Gate is said to be the first structure in the Middle East to use diagonal mesh technology designed to absorb and redirect wind and seismic pressure. Among skyscrapers similar to it are the Mary Ax in London, as well as the Hearst Tower in New York.

Capital Gate – the building with the largest slope in the world

30 St Mary Ax (London, England) | pixabay.com

Capital Gate – the building with the largest slope in the world

Hearst Tower (New York, USA) | flickr.com

Capital Gate – the building with the largest slope in the world

Capital Gate (Abu Dhabi, UAE) | shutterstock.com

 

Architectural features of Capital Gate

A dense mesh of reinforcing steel is placed on top of 490 piles, which are driven 30 meters underground. 728 specially made diamond-shaped glass panels are attached to the grid, which, due to the complex geometry of the structure, are installed at special angles. In total, the tower contains more than 12500 glasses, which significantly reduces the cost of artificial lighting of the premises. Also in the building is a conical atrium 60 meters high.

An atrium is a large open space inside a building.

The latest environmental developments were used in the construction of the skyscraper. The windows of the building block the sun's rays, thereby reducing the consumption of electricity for air conditioning. The undulating decor on the outside of the tower also acts as a heat shield. The steel canopy on the south side reduces the solar heat flux by more than 30%.

The skyscraper has 35 floors and has more than 16000 square meters of usable office space. The building houses the five-star Hyatt at Capital Gate Hotel, and the Andaz Hotel on floors 18 to 33, office and service space.

Capital Gate is owned and developed by the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Company and is owned by RMJM London. Construction of the Abu Dhabi Leaning Tower began in September 2007 and was completed in December 2011. The construction estimate was $2,2 billion.

Capital Gate – the building with the largest slope in the world

Image enlarges when clicking on it | shutterstock.com

Capital Gate – это уникальный 160-метровый небоскрёб в столице в Абу-Даби. Он вошёл в Книгу рекордов Гиннесса как здание с самым большим наклоном в мире, поскольку угол его наклона составляет 18 градусов – в 4,5 раза больше, чем у Пизанской башни …

Capital Gate – здание с самым большим наклоном в мире

Изображение увеличивается при клике по нему | shutterstock.com

Capital Gate (в переводе с английского означает «Ворота столицы») – это уникальный небоскрёб в столице Объединённых Арабских Эмиратов – Абу-Даби. При высоте 160 метров это здание стало одним из самых высоких в городе. Небоскрёб также известен как Падающая башня Абу-Даби. Capital Gate вошёл в Книгу рекордов Гиннесса как здание с самым большим наклоном в мире.

Capital Gate – здание с самым большим наклоном в мире

Изображение увеличивается при клике по нему | shutterstock.com

Угол наклона здания к западу составляет 18 градусов. Для сравнения: угол наклона знаменитой Пизанской башни равен всего 4 градусам, то есть в 4,5 раза меньше. В июне 2010 года представители Книги рекордов Гиннесса отметили Capital Gate как здание с самым большим углом наклона в мире.

Подобный угол наклона в проекте реализован благодаря своеобразному инженерному подходу: пластины этажей башни накладывались одна на другую строго вертикально до 12 этажа, выше которого они располагались с зазорами от 30 до 140 сантиметров, обеспечивая наклон.

Capital Gate считается первым на Ближнем Востоке сооружением, использующим технологию диагональной сетки, спроектированной для поглощения и перенаправления силы ветра и сейсмического давления. Среди аналогичных ему небоскрёбов можно назвать Мэри-Экс в Лондоне, а также Хёрст-тауэр в Нью-Йорке.

Capital Gate – здание с самым большим наклоном в мире

30 St Mary Axe (Лондон, Англия) | pixabay.com

Capital Gate – здание с самым большим наклоном в мире

Hearst Tower (Нью-Йорк, США) | flickr.com

Capital Gate – здание с самым большим наклоном в мире

Capital Gate (Абу-Даби, ОАЕ) | shutterstock.com

 

Архитектурные особенности Capital Gate

Плотная сетка из арматурной стали располагается поверх 490 свай, которые вбиты на глубину 30 метров под землю. В сетке крепится 728 специально изготовленных стеклянных панелей ромбовидной формы, которые ввиду сложной геометрии конструкции установлены под особыми углами. Всего башня содержит более 12500 стёкол, что существенно снижает затраты на искусственное освещение помещений. Также в здании располагается конический атриум высотой 60 метров.

Атриум – большое открытое пространство внутри здания.

В строительстве небоскрёба применялись новейшие экологические разработки. Стёкла здания блокируют солнечные лучи, тем самым уменьшая потребление электроэнергии на кондиционирование. Волнообразный декор снаружи башни также выполняет функцию защиты от нагрева. Стальной козырёк с южной стороны уменьшает поток солнечного тепла более чем на 30 %.

Небоскрёб насчитывает 35 этажей и имеет более чем 16000 квадратных метров полезной офисной площади. В здании располагается пятизвёздочный отель Hyatt at Capital Gate, и отель Andaz на этажах с 18 по 33, офисные и служебные помещения.

Владельцем и застройщиком Capital Gate является Национальная выставочная компания Абу-Даби, проект принадлежит архитектурному бюро RMJM London. Строительство Падающей башни Абу-Даби начато в сентябре 2007 года и закончено в декабре 2011 года. Смета на строительство составила 2,2 миллиарда долларов.

Capital Gate – здание с самым большим наклоном в мире

Изображение увеличивается при клике по нему | shutterstock.com

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в одном из браузеров:

Google Chrome

Яндекс.Браузер

Opera

2.

Нажмите меню браузера

3.

Выберите пункт «Добавить на главный экран»

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Safari

2.

Нажмите значок «Отправить»

3.

Выберите пункт «На экран Домой»