We continue our journey around the world in search of the most unusual trees. Today we will visit the tropics and subtropics of Africa, Australia and South Africa, the United States of America. Enjoy watching!

 

Dragon tree

Dragon Tree or Dragon Dracaena (Dracaena draco)

wikipedia.org

Dragon Tree or Dragon Dracaena (Dracaena draco)

flickr.com

Dragon Tree or Dragon Dracaena (Dracaena draco)

flickr.com

Dragon Tree or Dragon Dracaena (Dracaena draco)

wikimedia.org

Dragon Tree or Dragon Dracaena (Dracaena draco)

flickr.com

Dragon tree or Dracaena draco (Dracaena draco) is one of the most famous plants that grows in the tropics and subtropics of Africa. Trees up to 15–20 meters high look like a mushroom with a green hat. This unusual tree is also called Tenerife Dragon Tree, Canarian Dracaena, Canarian Dragon Tree, and the Great Russian Encyclopedia calls this plant "one of the most bizarre trees in the world."

Since ancient times, the dragon tree has been the source of the so-called "dragon's blood" ("dragon's blood") – a resinous juice of a bright red color that is released from plants when the bark is cut (also from felled trees). It is odorless and tasteless, soluble in acetic acid and other organic solvents. It is used in folk medicine and for tinting wines, as well as for the manufacture of varnish for metal surfaces. Dragon blood contains the pigments dracocarmine and dracorubin.

The dragon tree is cultivated as an ornamental plant, including as an indoor plant, it belongs to the so-called "green-leaved" types of dracaena.

It was previously believed that the lifespan of some plants of this species reaches 5-6 thousand years, however, according to modern ideas, the age estimate of old dragon trees was greatly overestimated, but it is not known exactly.

Dragon trees usually begin to bloom between 8 and 11 years of age, but some trees first bloom much later – at 25-30 years. The plant does not bloom every year, but once in about 14-17 years. The fruits of the dragon tree are orange-colored berries, they are edible and taste like cherries.

 

Violet tree

Jacaranda (Jacaranda)

shutterstock.com

Jacaranda (Jacaranda)

shutterstock.com

Jacaranda (Jacaranda)

flickr.com

Jacaranda (Jacaranda)

flickr.com

Jacaranda (Jacaranda)

myclarencevalley.com

Jacaranda (Jacaranda) is an amazing plant, in the genus of which there are about fifty species. For its flowering characteristics, jacaranda is called the "violet tree". In most cases, these are large or medium-sized evergreen trees, growing mainly in the tropical and subtropical zone. Most of them are from South America, in particular Brazil.

Many species of jacaranda are grown as ornamental plants – especially the species Jacaranda mimosifolia (mimosifolia jacaranda).

In most cases, these are large or medium-sized shrubs or trees from 5 to 20–30 meters high. Jacaranda flowers usually come in all sorts of bluish and lilac hues, but there are also species with white and purple flowers. The blue jacaranda is cultivated in almost all parts of the world where there is no danger of freezing.

Jacaranda blooms only once a year (in October-November) for about two weeks. The trees take on an absolutely fantastic look – the spectrum varies from bright blue to light lilac.

Interesting Facts

In the small town of Grafton in the Australian state of New South Wales, the jacaranda bloom is even dedicated to a whole festival called “Jacaranda Season”. In the second half of October, the jacaranda-lined streets and parks of this town look like something out of a dream, with the trees in full bloom.

The largest population of jacaranda is located in the capital of South Africa – Pretoria. More than 70 thousand of such trees grow here. They are planted along the edges of the streets, as well as in the parks and gardens of the city. In this regard, Pertoria is called the "City of Jacaranda".

And in the Republic of South Africa there is a real cult of jacaranda. One of the largest plantations of jacaranda is located in the city of Johannesburg of this country. Here, this amazing plant can be found in almost every yard, it is planted along the streets, in parks, near office buildings and shopping centers.

Related articles:

Jacaranda season in Grafton, Australia

City of Jacaranda in Pretoria, South Africa

Jacaranda season in Johannesburg, South Africa

 

Mammoth tree

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

geograph.org

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

flickr.com

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

flickr.com

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

pixabay.com

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

wikimedia.org

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

freeimageslive.com

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

wikimedia.org

Mammoth tree, also known as big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia)

wikimedia.org

The mammoth tree, also known as the big tree, wellingtonia, giant sequoia or giant sequoia (giant sequoia) is so named because of the resemblance of its huge hanging branches to mammoth tusks. These huge trees can reach a height of up to 100 meters with a trunk diameter of 10–12 meters. Some of the living trees are estimated to be 3500 years old.

Giant sequoias were widespread in the Northern Hemisphere at the end of the Cretaceous and in the Tertiary period, now only about 30 groves have survived, located on the western slope of the Sierra Nevada in California, USA. It is sequoiadendrons (and not just sequoias) that can be seen in Sequoia National Park.

Interesting fact

The famous giant sequoia "General Sherman" (last two photos above), growing in the "Giant Forest" of the Sequoia National Park in California, USA, has a height of 85 meters (as of 2018) and contains 1487 m³ of wood, its weight is estimated at 1910 tons (estimated in 1938), age – 2300-2700 years. It is believed that this is the largest tree and the heaviest living organism on the planet.

Sequoiadendrons as ornamental plants are bred in many countries of the world with a suitable climate: they grow well in England, where they were brought back in the middle of the 19th century, as well as Holland, Germany, Switzerland, Poland and other parts of Europe. On the territory of the former USSR, sequoiadendrons grow well only in regions with not very severe winters – in the south of Crimea, Central Asia (when watered), on the Black Sea coast of the Caucasus, Transcaucasia, Transcarpathia.

 

Fluffy Japanese maple

Japanese maple (downy Japanese-maple), or Amur maple, or full moon maple

flickr.com

Japanese maple (downy Japanese-maple), or Amur maple, or full moon maple

shutterstock.com

Japanese maple (downy Japanese-maple), or Amur maple, or full moon maple

flickr.com

Japanese maple (downy Japanese-maple), or Amur maple, or full moon maple

shutterstock.com

Japanese maple (downy Japanese-maple), or Amur maple, or full moon maple, is a variety of maple that grows in Japan on the islands of Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu, and also in southern Korea. But we found these amazing specimens not in Japan, but in the USA – in the Portland Japanese Garden. This garden is a beautiful piece of Japan, it is recognized as the best example of a traditional Japanese garden that has been created outside of the Land of the Rising Sun.

Fluffy Japanese maple grows up to 5–10 meters (rarely up to 15 meters) in height. In autumn, the leaves of the tree become very colorful – from bright orange to dark red.

Продолжаем наше путешествие по миру в поисках самых необычных деревьев. Сегодня мы посетим тропики и субтропики Африки, Австралию, ЮАР, США

Продолжаем наше путешествие по миру в поисках самых необычных деревьев. Сегодня мы посетим тропики и субтропики Африки, Австралию и Южно-Африканскую Республику, Соединённые Штаты Америки. Приятного просмотра!

 

Драконово дерево

Драконово дерево или Драцена драконовая (Dracaena draco)

wikipedia.org

Драконово дерево или Драцена драконовая (Dracaena draco)

flickr.com

Драконово дерево или Драцена драконовая (Dracaena draco)

flickr.com

Драконово дерево или Драцена драконовая (Dracaena draco)

wikimedia.org

Драконово дерево или Драцена драконовая (Dracaena draco)

flickr.com

Драконово дерево или Драцена драконовая (Dracaena draco) – это одно из самых знаменитых растений, которое произрастает в тропиках и субтропиках Африки. Деревья высотой до 15–20 метров имеют вид гриба с зелёной шляпкой. Это необычное дерево также называют Драконово дерево Тенерифа, Драцена канарская, Канарское драконово дерево, а в Большой российской энциклопедии это растение названо «одним из самых причудливых деревьев в мире».

Драконово дерево с древних времён является источником так называемой «драконовой крови» («крови дракона») – смолистого сока ярко-красного цвета, который выделяется у растений при надрезе коры (также у срубленных деревьев). Она не имеет ни запаха, ни вкуса, растворима в уксусной кислоте и других органических растворителях. Используется в народной медицине и для подкраски вин, а также для изготовления лака для металлических поверхностей. Драконья кровь содержит пигменты дракокармин и дракорубин.

Драконово дерево культивируется как декоративное растение, в том числе как комнатное, относится к так называемым «зеленолистным» видам драцены.

Раньше считалось, что продолжительность жизни некоторых растений этого вида достигает 5–6 тысяч лет, однако согласно современным представлениям, оценка возраста старых драконовых деревьев была сильно завышена, но точно не известна.

Драконовы деревья обычно начинают цвести в возрасте от 8 до 11 лет, но у некоторых деревьев первое цветение наблюдается гораздо позже – в 25–30 лет. Растение цветёт не каждый год, а один раз примерно в 14–17 лет. Плоды драконового дерева – ягоды оранжевого цвета, они съедобны и по вкусу похожи на черешню.

 

Фиалковое дерево

Жакаранда (Jacaranda)

shutterstock.com

Жакаранда (Jacaranda)

shutterstock.com

Жакаранда (Jacaranda)

flickr.com

Жакаранда (Jacaranda)

flickr.com

Жакаранда (Jacaranda)

myclarencevalley.com

Жакаранда (Jacaranda) – это удивительное растение, в роду которого насчитывается около пятидесяти видов. За свои особенности цветения жакаранду называют «фиалковое дерево». В большинстве случаев это большие или средней величины вечнозелёные деревья, растущие в основном в тропической и субтропической зоне. Родиной большинства из них является Южная Америка, в частности, Бразилия.

Многие виды жакаранды выращивают как декоративные растения – особенно это касается вида Jacaranda mimosifolia (жакаранда мимозолистная).

В большинстве случаев это большие или средней величины кустарники или деревья высотой от 5 до 20–30 метров. Цветки жакаранды обычно бывают всевозможных синеватых и сиреневых оттенков, но есть также виды с белыми и пурпурными цветками. Синяя жакаранда культивируется почти во всех частях света, где нет опасности замерзания.

Цветёт жакаранда всего раз в году (в октябре–ноябре) примерно две недели. Деревья приобретают совершенно фантастический вид – спектр варьируется от ярко-голубого до светло-сиреневого.

Интересные факты

В небольшом городке Графтон австралийского штата Новый Южный Уэльс цветению жакаранды даже посвящён целый фестиваль под названием «Сезон жакаранды». Во второй половине октября усаженные жакарандой улицы и парки этого городка выглядят как что-то из мечты, с деревьями в полном цвету.

Самая крупная популяция жакаранды находится в столице ЮАР – Претории. Здесь растёт более 70 тысяч таких деревьев. Они высажены по краям улиц, а также в парках и садах города. В связи с этим Перторию называют «Городом Жакаранд».

А в Южно-Африканской Республике существует настоящий культ жакаранды. Одно из самых крупных насаждений жакаранды находится в городе Йоханнесбург этой страны. Здесь это удивительное растение можно встретить практически в каждом дворе, его высаживают вдоль улиц, в парках, возле административных зданий и торговых центров.

 

Мамонтово дерево

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

geograph.org

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

flickr.com

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

flickr.com

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

pixabay.com

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

wikimedia.org

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

freeimageslive.co

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

wikimedia.org

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia)

wikimedia.org

Мамонтово дерево, также известно как большое дерево, веллингтония, секвойядендрон гигантский или гигантская секвойя (giant sequoia) так названо из-за внешнего сходства его огромных свисающих ветвей с бивнями мамонта. Эти огромные деревья могут достигать высоты до 100 метров при диаметре ствола 10–12 метров. Возраст некоторых из ныне живущих деревьев оценивается в 3500 лет.

Гигантские секвойи были широко распространены в Северном полушарии в конце мелового периода и в третичном периоде, сейчас сохранилось лишь около 30 рощ, находящихся на западном склоне Сьерра-Невады в Калифорнии, США. Именно секвойядендроны (а не просто секвойи) можно увидеть в Национальном парке Секвойя.

Интересный факт

Известная гигантская секвойя «Генерал Шерман» (последние два фото выше), растущая в «Гигантском лесу» национального парка «Секвойя» в Калифорнии, США, имеет высоту 85 метров (по состоянию на 2018 год) и содержит 1487 м³ древесины, её масса оценивается в 1910 т (оценка 1938 года), возраст – 2300–2700 лет. Считается, что это самое большое дерево и самый тяжёлый живой организм на планете.

Секвойядендроны как декоративные растения разводятся во многих странах мира с подходящим климатом: хорошо растут в Англии, куда они были завезены ещё в середине XIX века, а также Голландии, Германии, Швейцарии, Польше и других частях Европы. На территории бывшего СССР секвойядендроны хорошо растут только в регионах с не очень суровыми зимами – на юге Крыма, Средней Азии (при поливе), на Черноморском побережье Кавказа, Закавказье, Закарпатье.

 

Пушистый японский клён

Клён японский (downy Japanese-maple), или клён амурский, или клён полнолуния

flickr.com

Клён японский (downy Japanese-maple), или клён амурский, или клён полнолуния

shutterstock.com

Клён японский (downy Japanese-maple), или клён амурский, или клён полнолуния

flickr.com

Клён японский (downy Japanese-maple), или клён амурский, или клён полнолуния

shutterstock.com

Клён японский (downy Japanese-maple), или клён амурский, или клён полнолуния –разновидность клёна, произрастающая в Японии на островах Хонсю, Хоккайдо, Кюсю, а также в южной части Кореи. Но эти удивительные экземпляры мы обнаружили не в Японии, а в США – в Портлендском японском саду. Этот сад является прекрасной частицей Японии, он признан, лучшим образцом традиционного японского сада, который создали за пределами Страны восходящего солнца.

Пушистый японский клён вырастает до 5–10 метров (реже 15) в высоту. Осенью листья дерева становятся очень красочными – от ярко-оранжевых до тёмно-красных.

Оцените статью и поделитесь в соцсетях
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Рейтинг: 5.00 (Количество оценок: 3)
 

FactUm-Info Интересные факты

Подпишитесь на наш Telegram-канал

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Google Chrome

2.

Нажмите меню браузера

3.

Выберите пункт «Установить приложение»

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Safari

2.

Нажмите значок «Отправить»

3.

Выберите пункт «На экран Домой»