There are thousands of different waterfalls on our planet: wide and narrow, high and small, famous and unknown. But not a single “fall of water from a ledge” (this process is the key characteristic of a waterfall) is similar to one another. Streams of water can fall from a height in a variety of ways, and each waterfall is unique in its own way. In this article, we will look at 7 of the most amazing and outstanding waterfalls on our planet.

☛ Go straight to virtual panoramas of waterfalls

 

1. Iguazu Falls, Argentina – Brazil (South America)

Iguazu Falls, Argentina – Brazil (South America)

airpano.com

The famous Iguazu Falls in South America is located on the territory of two countries: Brazil (to a lesser extent) and Argentina (to a greater extent). It is relatively low (up to 82 meters), but it is one of the most powerful waterfalls in the world. Depending on the season, every second Iguazu drops from 1 to 3 million liters of water down.

If Iguazu were a single wall of water, then it would be the widest waterfall in the world. But Iguazu is made up of 275 individual falls. Their width reaches 2700 meters, but only in total. The largest waterfall of this cascade bears the ominous name "Devil's Throat" and is the border between Brazil and Argentina. The “throat” is 150 meters wide and 700 meters long. In shape, it is more like a horseshoe, and 14 powerful streams fall down it.

The Iguazu National Parks, lying on both sides of the waterfall, were included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1984-1986, and the waterfall itself was rightfully among the winners of the Seven New Wonders of Nature competition in 2011 (New 7 wonders of Nature).

 

 

2. Victoria Falls, Zambia – Zimbabwe (Africa)

Victoria Falls, Zambia – Zimbabwe (Africa)

airpano.com

Another border waterfall lying between the two states is Victoria in Zambia and Zimbabwe. This is the widest waterfall in the world (1800 meters). Victoria Falls is one of the main attractions of South Africa, belongs to the UNESCO World Heritage Site.

It is created by the Zambezi River, which plunges sharply into a narrow crevice 120 meters wide, carved by water in a break in the earth's crust. Its noise is heard at a distance of 40 kilometers, and the spray and fog from falling water, rising to a height of more than 400 meters, are visible from a distance of 50 kilometers. Even rainbows are formed here record – "lunar" (the result of the refraction of the light rays of the moon).

The waterfall is divided into four parts by islands on the edge of the abyss. And at its upper point there is a natural mountain reservoir about a dozen meters wide, called the Devil's Font, or the Devil's Pool. There the water is relatively calm, and from September to December you can swim here, on the edge of a dizzying cliff.

 

3. Angel Falls, Venezuela (South America)

Angel Falls, Venezuela (South America)

airpano.com

In the tropical forests of Venezuela, on the territory of the Canaima National Park, there is the highest waterfall in the world – Angel: 979 meters in total (and according to some sources, its height is 1054 meters). It is named after the pilot James Angel (in Spanish, this surname sounds exactly like "Angel"), who noticed a giant water stream during a flight in 1933.

The height of the continuous fall of Angel (807 meters) is so great that, before reaching the ground, the water is sprayed into tiny particles and turns into fog. On cloudy days, the top of the waterfall is hidden behind the clouds, and it seems that the water falls directly from the sky. This is partly true: Angel does not feed on melting snow, glaciers or lakes. All the water comes from the clouds pouring tropical rain over the top of the mountain.

Together with the National Park, Angel has been included in the UNESCO World Heritage List since 1994.

 

4. Churun ​​Meru Falls, Venezuela (South America)

Churun ​​Meru Falls, Venezuela (South America)

airpano.com

There are many other waterfalls in the Venezuelan Canaima Park. The smallest of them, Churun-Meru, does not even reach 400 meters in height. The waterfall was unlucky in every other sense. The researchers of this area noticed him last, and he falls in a very narrow canyon, where it is difficult to get close, so even the height of Churun-Meru is not exactly known.

But the worst thing is that from time to time the locals also call the “big brother” – Angel Falls – the name of Churun-Meru. Firstly, it is located in the Churun ​​River basin, and secondly, not everyone likes that the main attraction of Venezuela is named after an American pilot. So the tiny Churun-Meru lives in the shadow of its famous giant neighbor.

However, the canyon into which the waterfall falls is so beautiful that we rightfully consider Churun-Meru one of the most picturesque waterfalls.

 

5. Niagara Falls, USA – Canada (North America)

Niagara Falls, USA – Canada (North America)

airpano.com

Niagara Falls is perhaps the most famous water stream in the world. It does not hide in overgrown jungles or ominous gorges: on the contrary, proudly dividing the two countries, the USA and Canada, Niagara Falls has been known since the 17th century, and has been welcoming tourists since the 19th century.

By world standards, it is not so high – 53 meters, but with a width of 792 meters, Niagara Falls is one of the widest on the planet. It appeared as a result of the activity of the ice sheet, which moved more than 10,000 years ago from the territory of eastern Canada and rapidly changed the surrounding terrain. By the way, the movement of rocks continues to this day, and over the past centuries, Niagara Falls has receded 11 kilometers to the south.

The location of the waterfalls on Niagara is such that their simultaneous view from the ground is impossible. Therefore, a virtual walk at a bird's eye view will give the most accurate idea of ​​​​this famous landmark in the United States and Canada (see at the end of the article).

More interesting facts about Niagara Falls can be found in our article here ☞.

 

6. Waterfall Svartifoss, Iceland (Europe)

Waterfall Svartifoss, Iceland (Europe)

airpano.com

There is probably nothing more breathtaking in Icelandic nature than a waterfall. One of the most amazing is the Svartifoss waterfall, (Svartifoss is translated from Icelandic as the Black Falls). It is located in the Skaftafell National Park, surrounded by unusual hexagonal black lava columns, which gave it such a name. This is one of the most unusual waterfalls in the world.

The base of this waterfall deserves attention because of the pointed stones, as the hexagonal columns at the very beginning of the waterfall wear down faster under a powerful stream of water. These basalt columns have inspired many Icelandic architects to create magnificent masterpieces of classical architecture.

These columns were created inside a lava flow that cooled very slowly, causing it to crystallize. Similar well-known lava formations can be seen in the north of Ireland at a place called "Giant's Bridge" or "Giant's Path" (read more here ☞).

Despite its small size, this is a very beautiful waterfall. And the virial panorama of this waterfall (see at the end of the article) took second place at the Epson International Pano Awards 2012.

 

7. Waterfall Purakaunui, New Zealand (Oceania)

Purakaunui Falls, New Zealand (Oceania)

airpano.com

And on the other side of the world, in New Zealand on the South Island, in the silence of the subtropical forest of the Catlins National Park, the Purakaunui cascading waterfall is hiding on the river of the same name. This is one of the most photographed waterfalls in New Zealand and is even featured on the country's postage stamp issued in 1976.

Despite a very insignificant height of 20 meters, the water in this waterfall is divided into thousands of separate jets, running down from several ledges. The waterfall is especially beautiful during the rainy season.

 

And finally, it's time to take a virtual walk through these amazing waterfalls. This virtual tour contains the best panoramas of waterfalls on five continents from the AirPano Internet service. Happy viewing!

Go to virtual panoramas

 

Waterfalls of five continents

To switch to full screen mode on a mobile device, press the panorama and hold for 2 seconds

If you want to get to know each of the presented waterfalls more fully, you can do it here:

  1. Iguazu Falls
  2. Victoria Falls
  3. Angel Falls
  4. Churun ​​Meru waterfall
  5. Niagara Falls
  6. Black waterfall (Svartifoss)

В этой статье мы рассмотрим семь самых выдающихся водопадов мира: водопады Игуасу, водопад Виктория, водопад Анхель и водопад Чурун-Меру, Ниагарский водопад, Свартифосс, водопад Пуракаунуи. А после мы совершим виртуальный тур по этим водопадам …

На нашей планете – тысячи самых разных водопадов: широких и узких, высоких и маленьких, знаменитых и неизвестных. Но ни одно «падение воды с уступа» (именно этот процесс и является ключевой характеристикой водопада) не похоже одно на другое. Потоки воды могут низвергаться с высоты самым разным образом, и каждый водопад по-своему уникален. В этой статье мы рассмотрим семь самых удивительных и выдающихся водопадов нашей планеты.

 

Водопад Игуасу, Аргентина – Бразилия (Южная Америка)

Водопад Игуасу, Аргентина – Бразилия (Южная Америка)

airpano.ru

Знаменитый водопад Игуасу в Южной Америке находится на территории двух стран: Бразилии (в меньшей степени) и Аргентины (в большей). Он сравнительно невысок (до 82 метров), зато входит в число наиболее мощных водопадов мира. В зависимости от сезона, каждую секунду Игуасу сбрасывает вниз от 1 до 3 миллионов литров воды.

Если бы Игуасу являлся единой водной стеной, то он был бы самым широким водопадом в мире. Но Игуасу состоит из 275 отдельных водопадов. Их ширина достигает 2700 метров, однако лишь в общей сложности. Крупнейший водопад этого каскада носит зловещее название «Глотка Дьявола» и является границей между Бразилией и Аргентиной. В ширину «глотка» составляет 150 метров, в длину – 700 метров. По форме она скорее похожа на подкову, а низвергается по ней 14 мощных потоков.

Национальные парки Игуасу, лежащие по обе стороны от водопада, в 1984–1986 годах были внесены в список объектов всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, а сам водопад в 2011 году по праву вошёл в число победителей всемирного конкурса «Семь новых чудес природы» (New 7 wonders of Nature).

 

Водопад Виктория, Замбия – Зимбабве (Африка)

Водопад Виктория, Замбия – Зимбабве (Африка)

airpano.ru

Ещё один пограничный водопад, лежащий между двумя государствами – Виктория в Замбии и Зимбабве. Это самый широкий в мире водопад (1800 метров). Водопад Виктория является одной из главных достопримечательностей Южной Африки, относится к Всемирному наследию ЮНЕСКО.

Он создаётся рекой Замбези, резко низвергающейся в узкую расщелину шириной 120 метров, вырезанную водой в разломе земной коры. Его шум слышен на расстоянии 40 километров, а брызги и туман от падающей воды, поднимающиеся на высоту более 400 метров, видны с расстояния 50 километров. Даже радуги здесь образуются рекордные – «лунные» (результат преломления световых лучей Луны).

Водопад разделён на четыре части островами на краю пропасти. А в его верхней точке есть естественный горный водоём шириной около десятка метров, названный Купелью дьявола, или Дьявольским бассейном. Там вода относительно спокойна, и с сентября по декабрь здесь, на краю головокружительного обрыва, можно плавать.

 

Водопад Анхель, Венесуэла (Южная Америка)

Водопад Анхель, Венесуэла (Южная Америка)

airpano.ru

В тропических лесах Венесуэлы, на территории Национального парка Канайма, находится высочайший водопад мираАнхель: 979 метров в общей сложности (а по некоторым данным его высота составляет 1054 метра). Он назван по имени летчика Джеймса Эйнджела (по-испански эта фамилия звучит именно как «Анхель»), заметившего гигантский водный поток во время полёта в 1933 году.

Высота непрерывного падения Анхеля (807 метров) настолько велика, что, прежде чем достичь земли, вода распыляется на мельчайшие частички и превращается в туман. Верхушка водопада в пасмурные дни скрыта за облаками, и кажется, что вода падает прямо с неба. Это отчасти верно: Анхель не питается тающими снегами, ледниками или озёрами. Вся вода исходит из облаков, проливающих тропические дожди над верхушкой горы.

Вместе с Национальным парком, Анхель с 1994 года включён в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

 

Водопад Чурун-Меру, Венесуэла (Южная Америка)

Водопад Чурун-Меру, Венесуэла (Южная Америка)

airpano.ru

В венесуэльском парке Канайма немало и других водопадов. Самый маленький из них, Чурун-Меру, не достигает и 400 метров в высоту. Водопаду не повезло и во всех остальных смыслах. Исследователи этой области заметили его последним, а падает он в очень узком каньоне, куда сложно подобраться, поэтому даже высота Чурун-Меру точно не известна.

Но хуже всего то, что именем Чурун-Меру время от времени местные жители называют и «большого брата» – водопад Анхель. Во-первых, тот находится в бассейне реки Чурун, а во-вторых, не всем нравится, что главная достопримечательность Венесуэлы носит имя американского лётчика. Так вот крохотный Чурун-Меру и живёт в тени своего знаменитого гигантского соседа.

Однако, каньон, в который низвергается водопад, настолько красив, что мы по праву считаем Чурун-Меру одним из самых живописных водопадов.

 

Ниагарский водопад, США – Канада (Северная Америка)

Ниагарский водопад, США – Канада (Северная Америка)

airpano.ru

А Ниагарский водопад, напротив, едва ли не самый прославленный водный поток в мире. Он не прячется в заросших джунглях или зловещих ущельях: напротив, гордо разделяя две страны, США и Канаду, Ниагарский водопад известен с XVII века, а принимает туристов с XIX века.

По мировым меркам он не так уж высок – 53 метра, зато с шириной в 792 метра Ниагарский водопад входит в число самых широких на планете. Он появился вследствие активности ледникового щита, двигавшегося более 10 тысяч лет назад с территории восточной Канады и стремительно менявшего окружающий рельеф. Кстати, движение пород продолжается до сих пор, и за минувшие века Ниагарский водопад отступил на 11 километров к югу.

Расположение водопадов на Ниагаре таково, что с земли их одновременный обзор невозможен. Поэтому виртуальная прогулка на высоте птичьего полёта даст максимально верное представление об этой знаменитой достопримечательности США и Канады (смотрите в конце статьи).

 

Водопад Свартифосс, Исландия (Европа)

Водопад Свартифосс, Исландия (Европа)

airpano.ru

В природе Исландии, вероятно, нет ничего более захватывающего дух, чем водопад. Одним из самых удивительных является водопад Свартифосс, (Svartifoss с исландского языка переводится как Чёрный водопад). Он находится в Национальном парке Skaftafell, в окружении необычных шестигранных колонн чёрной лавы, что и дало ему такое название. Это один из самых необычных водопадов мира.

Основа этого водопада заслуживает внимания из-за остроконечных камней, так как шестигранные колоны у самого начала водопада быстрее стачиваются под мощным потоком воды. Эти базальтовые колонны вдохновили немало исландских архитекторов на создание великолепных шедевров классической архитектуры.

Эти колонны были созданы внутри лавового потока, который охлаждался очень медленно, что и привело его к кристаллизации. Аналогичные известные лавовые образования можно увидеть на севере Ирландии в месте под названием «Мостовая гигантов» или «Тропа Великана».

Несмотря на свои небольшие размеры, это очень красивый водопад. А вириальная панорама этого водопада (смотрите в конце статьи) заняла второе место на международном конкурсе Epson International Pano Awards 2012.

 

Водопад Пуракаунуи, Новая Зеландия (Океания)

Водопад Пуракаунуи, Новая Зеландия (Океания)

airpano.ru

А на другом краю света, в Новой Зеландии на Южном острове, в тишине субтропического леса национального парка Катлинс прячется каскадный водопад Пуракаунуи (Purakaunui) на одноименной реке. Это одни из самых зафотографированных водопадов в Новой Зеландии, он даже изображён на почтовой марке этой страны, выпущенной в 1976 году.

Несмотря на очень незначительную высоту в 20 метров, вода в этом водопаде разделяется на тысячи отдельных струй, сбегающих с нескольких уступов. Особенно водопад красив в сезон дождей.

 

Ну и наконец, пришло время совершить виртуальную прогулку по этим удивительным водопадам. В этом виртуальном туре собраны лучшие панорамы водопадов пяти континентов от интернет-сервиса AirPano. Приятного просмотра!

Если же вы хотите более полно познакомиться с каждым из представленных водопадов, это можно сделать здесь:

  1. Водопад Игуасу
  2. Водопад Виктория
  3. Водопад Анхель
  4. Водопад Чурун-Меру
  5. Ниагарский водопад
  6. Чёрный водопад (Svartifoss)

ИНТЕРЕСНОЕ

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в одном из браузеров:

Google Chrome

Яндекс.Браузер

Opera

2.

Нажмите меню браузера

3.

Выберите пункт «Добавить на главный экран»

1.

Откройте сайт FactUm-Info в браузере Safari

2.

Нажмите значок «Отправить»

3.

Выберите пункт «На экран Домой»