"Owl" – a characteristic of the human chronotype

pixabay.com

The body of each person is unique and functions according to its own biological clock, and not according to generally accepted norms and standards. Belonging to a certain chronotype determines the maximum level of your physical and intellectual activity during the day, in other words, the level of your effective performance.

There are 3 main chronotypes:

We recommend that you take a simple psychological test to determine which chronotype you belong to – Determine your chronotype: "lark", "dove" or "owl".

According to statistics, the number of "owls" is approximately 33% of the total population.

 

Awakening

Most "owls" wake up on their own at 10-11 am. Waking up early on an alarm clock is hard and sometimes even painful for them, as Fyodor Chistyakov says in a song: “I just got up and I’m already tired,” after which they feel overwhelmed and exhausted during the day.

A few simple tips will make getting up “owls” easy in the morning and give you strength for the whole day:

  • the alarm signal should be gentle and delicate (gradually increasing calm melody or sounds of nature);
  • if you wake up, no "5 minutes", do not give in to temptation, stretch sweetly and get out of bed;
  • wash with cool water – it refreshes well and improves tone;
  • fragrant coffee is the key to a good mood;
  • motivate yourself (find the reason why you need to get up early, set a goal).

"Owl" – a characteristic of the human chronotype

Designed by Freepik

 

Physical activity

The activity of the "owls" increases gradually from 14:00 and reaches its peak in the evening from 19:00 to 21:00, and then decreases. Until noon, representatives of this chronotype are completely passive, slow and not in the best mood. But in the late afternoon, when drowsiness and fatigue pass, they begin vigorous activity, the peak of which falls on the evening and night.

 

Intellectual activity

Owls have three intervals of maximum intellectual activity. The first burst of activity is observed in the period from 13 to 14 o'clock in the afternoon, the other two rises occur in the evening from 18 to 20 o'clock and from 23 to 1 o'clock in the morning.

The most productive is the afternoon and evening, in connection with this, "owls" need to make their own work schedule. It is desirable to make business meetings and make difficult decisions in the afternoon.

 

Dream

Sleep problems haunt "owls" constantly, in the morning it is incredibly difficult for them to wake up, and at night it is simply unrealistic to fall asleep. Moreover, neither counting "sheep-lambs" nor soothing teas can help in the unequal struggle with insomnia. But a few simple rules will help you fall asleep relatively easily:

  • it is necessary to go to bed at the same time, having previously ventilated the room;
  • finish working at the computer or watching TV 40 minutes before bedtime, the best option would be an easy evening walk;
  • dinner should be light, low-calorie and no later than 2 hours before bedtime.

 

Sport

The body of "owls" is completely unprepared for morning sports loads, so it is better to postpone strength training and visiting a fitness club for the afternoon from 14 to 17 pm. It is this period of time that is the most optimal for strength training, when loads will bring the maximum effect when losing weight or gaining muscle mass with minimal damage to health. In the evening from 19 to 21 hours, low-intensity cardio workouts (running, swimming, aerobics and exercise machines in the cardio zone) are perfect. Stretching or Pilates after cardio helps to relax muscles, relieve nervous tension and improve well-being.

"Owl" – a characteristic of the human chronotype

Designed by Freepik

 

Food

A good appetite for "owls" appears only a few hours after waking up, so the first breakfast should be light and consist of a cup of fragrant invigorating coffee with croissants or toasts. The time for a full breakfast for representatives of the "owls" comes around 11 am, the menu of which includes cereal dishes (cereals), fruit salads, dairy products (low-fat cottage cheese, yogurt), boiled eggs.

The time for lunch comes at 15-16 hours, when the digestive system of the "owls" is completely ready to receive protein foods. Lunch should be complete and healthy, so proteins, fats and carbohydrates are the main components of the lunch diet. For the first course, you should cook chicken, fish, vegetable or mushroom soup, for the second – baked meat, poultry or fish with a side dish (boiled vegetables, potatoes or durum wheat pasta) and a salad of fresh vegetables and fruits. For an afternoon snack, green or herbal tea with dried fruits and sweets are perfect.

Dinner time for "owls" starts from 21 to 22 pm. The evening menu should include low-calorie, high-protein meals:

  • lean fish, rabbit, turkey or veal, steamed or baked, cottage cheese, eggs;
  • small amount of fiber (fresh fruits and vegetables).

A dinner consisting of protein meals is much preferable to meals that consist of complex or simple carbohydrates. The benefits of proteins are obvious, since they are involved in the restoration of body cells during sleep, while carbohydrates, which supply the body with energy, remain unclaimed at night, and as a result automatically accumulate in the body in the form of body fat.

The advice of nutritionists “not to eat after six in the evening” is designed for “larks”, but for “owls” they are not effective and can even be harmful to health. The optimal duration of dinner should be no more than 20 minutes 2-3 hours before bedtime, and it is advisable to exclude flour, fried and smoked foods, convenience foods, fatty sauces and sweets from the diet.

However, most representatives of the "owls" in the morning in a hurry refuse breakfast, during the day, due to the rapid rhythm of life, they confine themselves to small snacks in fast foods, and in the evening, catching up for the whole day, they absorb fatty and high-calorie foods in large quantities. Such an unhealthy diet leads to weight gain and, as a result, digestive problems.

 

Social adaptation

Owls experience great discomfort and difficulty at work when they have to work according to the generally accepted schedule from 8-9 in the morning. Their working mood appears only at the end of the working day, which leads to conflict situations in the work team or problems with the performance of work duties. Night owls take a long time to “build up” before getting to work, so there are more procrastinators among them than among disciplined early risers.

"Evening birds" like to put off uninteresting and boring tasks on the back burner, delaying the deadlines, especially if the tasks are of increased complexity. And, oddly enough, despite their innate slowness and a certain sluggishness, “owls” have the ability to perform several tasks at the same time, the so-called “multi-station workers”, which have greater productivity and high labor indicators compared to “larks”. And according to recent studies, by the age of 50, there are more rich and successful people among night owls.

For representatives of the chronotype "owls", specialties with a free work schedule, such as a programmer, journalist and freelancer, are best suited. The “night owls” are dominated by the right hemisphere of the brain, which is responsible for figurative (creative) thinking and imagination, therefore, among the “night birds” there are many people of creative professions: writers, artists and artists. Thanks to the ability not to lose composure in a critical situation and not to panic, among the "owls" there are many representatives of dangerous professions: firefighters, pilots, night guards.

"Owl" – a characteristic of the human chronotype

Designed by Freepik

 

"Owls", unlike "larks", are less prone to stress, they are psychologically more stable and more optimistic. "Evening birds" are better suited to shift work or night shifts, as they are easier to tolerate any changes in the rhythm of life. However, due to a long nocturnal lifestyle, their health is threatened by hormonal disruptions, which, together with an improper diet, provoke the development of peptic ulcer and diabetes mellitus.

You can restore and strengthen your health, as well as find peace of mind, only if you draw up a training program and the right diet that is fully consistent with your chronotype.

Author: Vivid Gray

Организм каждого человека уникален и функционирует по своим биологическим часам. По статистике «совы» составляют 33 % всего населения и относятся к вечернему хронотипу. «Полуночники» встают поздно, активно работают вечером и поздно ложатся спать …

«Сова» – характеристика хронотипа человека

pixabay.com

Организм каждого человека уникален и функционирует по своим биологическим часам, а не по общепризнанным нормам и стандартам. Принадлежность к определённому хронотипу определяет максимальный уровень вашей физической и интеллектуальной активности в течение дня, говоря иными словами уровень вашей эффективной работоспособности.

Классифицируют три основных хронотипа:

Рекомендуем пройти несложный психологический тест, чтобы определить к какому хронотипу вы относитесь – Определите ваш хронотип: «жаворонок», «голубь» или «сова».

По статистике численность «сов» составляет примерно 33 % всего населения.

 

Пробуждение

Большинство «сов» самостоятельно просыпаются в 10–11 часов утра. Ранний подъём по будильнику даётся им тяжело и порой даже болезненно, как поётся в песне у Фёдора Чистякова: «А я только что встал и уже устал», после чего они в течение дня чувствуют себя разбитыми и обессиленными.

Несколько простых советов сделают утренний подъём «сов» лёгким и придадут сил на весь день:

  • сигнал будильника должен быть щадящим и деликатным (постепенно нарастающая спокойная мелодия или звуки природы);
  • если проснулись, никаких «5 минуточек», не поддавайтесь соблазну, сладко потянитесь и вставайте с постели;
  • умойтесь прохладной водой – это хорошо освежает и повышает тонус;
  • ароматный кофе – залог хорошего настроения;
  • мотивируйте себя (найдите причину, из-за которой необходимо рано вставать, поставьте перед собой цель).

«Сова» – характеристика хронотипа человека

Designed by Freepik

 

Физическая активность

Активность у «сов» нарастает постепенно с 14 часов и достигает своего пика в вечерние время с 19 до 21 часа, а после снижается. До полудня представители данного хронотипа совершенно пассивны, медлительны и находятся не в самом лучшем расположении духа. Но ближе к вечеру, когда сонливость и усталость проходят, они начинают активную деятельность, пик которой приходится на вечер и ночь.

 

Интеллектуальная активность

У «сов» наблюдается три промежутка максимальной интеллектуальной активности. Первый всплеск активности наблюдается в период с 13 до 14 часов дня, остальные два подъёма приходятся на вечернее время с 18 до 20 часов и с 23 до 1 часа ночи.

Самым продуктивным является послеобеденное и вечернее время, в связи с этим «совам» необходимо составлять свой рабочий график. Назначать деловые встречи и принимать сложные решения желательно во второй половине дня.

 

Сон

Проблемы со сном преследуют «сов» постоянно, утром им невероятно трудно проснуться, а ночью просто нереально заснуть. Причём ни подсчёт «овечек-барашков», ни успокоительные чаи не в силах помочь в неравной борьбе с бессонницей. Но относительно легко заснуть помогут несколько простых правил:

  • необходимо ложиться спать в одно и то же время, предварительно проветрив комнату;
  • закончить работу за компьютером или просмотр телевизора за 40 минут до сна, лучшим вариантом будет лёгкая вечерняя прогулка;
  • ужин должен быть лёгким, низкокалорийным и не позднее, чем за 2 часа до сна.

 

Спорт

Организм «сов» совершенно не готов к утренним спортивным нагрузкам, поэтому силовые тренировки и посещение фитнес-клуба лучше перенести на послеобеденное время с 14 до 17 часов дня. Именно этот промежуток времени является самым оптимальным для силовых тренировок, когда нагрузки принесут максимальный эффект при похудении или наборе мышечной массы с минимальным ущербом для здоровья. В вечернее время с 19 до 21 часа прекрасно подойдут кардио тренировки низкой интенсивности (бег, плавание, аэробика и тренажёры в кардиозоне). Стретчинг или пилатес после кардио нагрузок способствует расслаблению мышц, снятию нервного напряжения и улучшению самочувствия.

«Сова» – характеристика хронотипа человека

Designed by Freepik

 

Питание

Хороший аппетит у «сов» появляется только через несколько часов после пробуждения, поэтому первый завтрак должен быть лёгким и состоять из чашечки ароматного бодрящего кофе с круассанами или тостами. Время полноценного завтрака для представителей «сов» наступает около 11 часов утра, в меню которого входят зерновые блюда (каши), фруктовые салаты, кисломолочные продукты (нежирный творог, йогурт), отварные яйца.

Время для обеда наступает в 15–16 часов, когда пищеварительная система «сов» полностью готова к приёму белковой пищи. Обед должен быть полноценным и полезным, поэтому белки, жиры и углеводы являются основными компонентами обеденного рациона. На первое блюдо следует приготовить куриный, рыбный, овощной или грибной суп, на второе – запечённые мясо, птица или рыба с гарниром (отварные овощи, картофель или макаронные изделия из твёрдых сортов пшеницы) и салат из свежих овощей и фруктов. Для полдника прекрасно подойдут зелёный или травяной чай с сухофруктами и сладостями.

Время ужина для «сов» начинается в период с 21 до 22 часов вечера. В вечернее меню необходимо включить низкокалорийные блюда с высоким содержанием белка:

  • нежирная рыба, кролик, индейка или телятина, приготовленные на пару, либо запечённые, творог, яйца;
  • небольшое количество клетчатки (свежие фрукты и овощи).

Ужин, состоящий из белковых блюд намного предпочтительнее блюд, которые состоят из сложных или простых углеводов. Польза от белков очевидна, поскольку они участвуют в восстановлении клеток организма во время сна, в то время как углеводы, снабжающие организм энергией, остаются невостребованными в ночное время, и в результате автоматически накапливаются в организме в виде жировых отложений.

Советы диетологов «не есть после шести часов вечера» разработаны для «жаворонков», а для «сов» они не эффективны и даже могут нанести вред здоровью. Оптимальная продолжительность ужина должна быть не более 20 минут за 2–3 часа до сна и желательно исключить из рациона мучные, жареные и копчёные блюда, полуфабрикаты, жирные соусы и сладости.

Тем не менее, большинство представителей «сов» утром в спешке отказываются от завтрака, в течение дня из-за стремительного ритма жизни ограничиваются небольшими перекусами в фастфудах, а вечером, навёрстывая упущенное за целый день, поглощают жирную и калорийную пищу в больших количествах. Такой нездоровый режим питания приводит к набору лишнего веса и, как следствие, проблемам с пищеварением.

 

Социальная адаптация

«Совы» испытывают сильный дискомфорт и трудности в работе, когда им приходится работать согласно общепринятому графику с 8–9 часов утра. Рабочее настроение у них появляется только к концу рабочего дня, что приводит к возникновению конфликтных ситуаций в трудовом коллективе или к проблемам с выполнением трудовых обязанностей. «Совам» требуется много времени на «раскачку», прежде чем приступить к выполнению работы, поэтому среди них встречается больше прокрастинаторов, чем среди дисциплинированных «жаворонков».

«Вечерние птицы» любят откладывать неинтересные и скучные задания в долгий ящик, затягивая сроки выполнения, особенно если задания повышенной сложности. И, как ни странно, несмотря на свою прирождённую медлительность и некую нерасторопность «совы» обладают способностью выполнять несколько дел одновременно, так называемые «многостаночники», имеющие бо́льшую результативность и высокие трудовые показатели в сравнении с «жаворонками». А согласно последним исследованиям, к 50-ти годам жизни среди полуночников больше богатых и успешных людей.

Для представителей хронотипа «сов» оптимально подходят специальности со свободным графиком работы, такие как программист, журналист и фрилансер. У «полуночников» доминирует правое полушарие мозга, которое отвечает за образное (творческое) мышление и воображение, поэтому среди «ночных птиц» встречается много людей творческих профессий: писатели, художники и артисты. Благодаря способности не терять самообладание в критической ситуации и не впадать в панику, среди «сов» много представителей опасных профессий: пожарные, лётчики, ночные охранники.

«Сова» – характеристика хронотипа человека

Designed by Freepik

 

«Совы» в отличие от «жаворонков» в меньшей степени подвержены стрессам, они психологически устойчивее и более оптимистично настроены. «Вечерние птицы» лучше приспосабливаются к работе по сменам или в ночные смены, поскольку они легче переносят любые изменения в ритме жизни. Однако из-за длительного ночного образа жизни их здоровью угрожают гормональные сбои, которые в совокупности с неправильным режимом питания провоцируют развитие язвенной болезни и сахарного диабета.

Вы сможете восстановить и укрепить здоровье, а также обрести душевное равновесие, лишь в том случае, если составите программу тренировок и правильный рацион питания, полностью соответствующий вашему хронотипу.

Автор: Vivid Gray

ИНТЕРЕСНОЕ